Waiting on Wednesday #8

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we share our most anticpated future reads.

My pick:

17302495

| Publication date: June 11th 2013 (Ebook Edition)| Atria Books |Amazon | Barnes & Noble |

Summary:Livie has always been the stable one of the two Cleary sisters, handling her parents’ tragic death and Kacey’s self-destructive phase with strength and maturity. But underneath that exterior is a little girl hanging onto the last words her father ever spoke to her. “Make me proud,” he had said. She promised she would…and she’s done her best over the past seven years with every choice, with every word, with every action.
Livie walks into Princeton with a solid plan, and she’s dead set on delivering on it: Rock her classes, set herself up for medical school, and meet a good, respectable guy that she’s going to someday marry. What isn’t part of her plan are Jell-O shots, a lovable, party animal roommate she can’t say ‘no’ to, and Ashton, the gorgeous captain of the men’s rowing team. Definitely him. He’s an arrogant ass who makes Livie’s usually non-existent temper flare and everything she doesn’t want in a guy. Worse, he’s best friends and roommates with Connor, who happens to fits Livie’s criteria perfectly. So why does she keep thinking about Ashton?
As Livie finds herself facing mediocre grades, career aspirations she no longer thinks she can handle, and feelings for Ashton that she shouldn’t have, she’s forced to let go of her last promise to her father and, with it, the only identity that she knows.

My Thoughts:

Ten Tiny Breaths blew me away. (Review Here) I’m not the biggest fan of NA and am reluctant to pick it up for a next read (despite buying it ALL the time, damn cheap ebooks) so I was surprised by the depth of emotion that sprung from me whilst reading the first book. I’m sure that the follow up concerning the younger Cleary sister will be just as compelling.

What’s everyone else waiting on?

Danielle x

24 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday #8

  1. I still haven’t read the first book, but I need to. I’m also not a big NA fan, sometimes the covers look more like erotica and that throw’s me off. These covers, however, are gorgeous. Yup, I need to read these. Great choice!

    My WoW

      • Yeah so many are ridiculously formulaic in damaged girl + hot guy etc etc and this one has the same plot line but then surpassed itself which surprised me big time.

      • Oh really? And yeah, I agree with that. Usually if it’s an author I’ve previously read I’ll read NA but more times and not I’ve been shying away because it’s so repetitive.

      • I totally get it. I have Beautiful Disaster waiting for me for months and I keep putting it off. Part of me is afraid ill hate it but a bigger part of me is afraid ill love it and will be disappointed in myself since I’ve heard so much about slut shaming etc. It’s a very strange genre/category/age class, however it’s defined.

      • I got Beautiful Disaster, too, and I’ve been putting it off. I just, I don’t know, I get nervous because sometimes I feel like certain things that should not be glamorized are. And maybe glamorized isn’t the right word, but I just don’t like that every NA girl needs to be “broken”. I think that’s why I really enjoyed Never Forget because she was a fairly different MC. She didn’t have some deep dark secret, she was just I don’t know, normal?, I guess.

      • Yeah. My fear which is probably an overreaction but is that I won’t recognise that certain behaviours etc aren’t swoon-worthy and just plain wrong but then I think okay it’s fiction just enjoy the story but the damaged girl thing really bothers me. I must look up Never Forget!

  2. Danielle, if I end up with 3 comments, delete them. WordPress is playing games with me today by eating my comments! Love the cover of this book, so pretty but I still have to read the first book. I’m so-so about NA. Loved some like Easy, Hopeless, Slammed but hated others like On Dublin Street. Some are just way too clichéd for me but then others are amazing. Tricky!

    • I started Hopeless last night. Enjoying it but if they end up being brother and sister like I guessed five pages in or something similarly ridiculous I will scream! Lol This is what I hate about NA, my mind goes crazy with theories.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Haul #9 | What Danielle Did Next

Leave a Reply

