Mini movie review: The Host

Image

Summary: What if everything you love was taken from you in the blink of an eye? “The Host” is the next epic love story from the creator of the “Twilight Saga,” worldwide bestselling author, Stephenie Meyer. When an unseen enemy threatens mankind by taking over their bodies and erasing their memories, Melanie Stryder (Saoirse Ronan) will risk everything to protect the people she cares most about — Jared (Max Irons), Ian (Jake Abel), her brother Jamie (Chandler Canterbury) and her Uncle Jeb (William Hurt), proving that love can conquer all in a dangerous new world.

So I was sight-seeing today as it’s my last full day in London and was in Leicester  Square and thought I’d pop in and see The Host since it was released today and I never feel like such a loser going to the cinema on my own if it’s in a city. Pathetic I know!

I confess I’ve had the book sitting on my shelf for almost four years and I still haven’t read it! I vowed to do so this year in preperation for the movie but I clearly got the release dates mixed up with The Mortal Instruments and it crept up on me. However according to fellow movie-goers I chatted to waiting in line for the bathroom after, this was probably a good thing because apparently they left a lot out (inevitable). So because I have nothing to compare it to I have to say I really enjoyed it.

It’s not going to win any major awards and it does have that groan-tastic hokey dialogue you expect with anything Stephenie Meyer has to do with but it was an enjoyable two hours spent.

I loved Saoirse Ronan as Melanie/Wanda and I could clearly distuinguish between the two and felt for both. I found as their relationship deepened their conversations in “their” head were hilarious especially when it came to the subject of their taste in men!

I loved Max Irons as Jared, such a sweet character and Jake Abel who I’ve hated in everything else I’ve seen him in I adored too. Diane Kruger was passable as the “baddy” and the seekers and souls in general were interesting to watch.

The world building was at times a bit cringey. The costumes in particular were BAD and looked like they were trying too hard to make the Souls look futuristic and whoever the stylist was had a penchant for chunky heels which looked horrible!

The caves were well…wow! I don’t get how a rag-tag group of humans on the run, fighting for survival managed to rig up something so impressive and it came across as a little unbelievable. I think it’s moments like these that made me wish I had read the book!

Anyway I know the initial reviews haven’t been amazing and I don’t know how I’d feel if I had read the book but I think it’s worth seeing whether at the movies or on DVD.

Rating: ★★★ 1/2

7 thoughts on “Mini movie review: The Host

    • Can’t wait to read the book! It was defo hokey but enjoyable. I thought the actors were great so they could have done so much more with them!

  1. I have heard that people who’ve read the book are not happy with the movie and I personally haven’t read the book, so I’m glad that you can still watch the movie and enjoy it and it’s not really that bad. Though I’m going to read the book first.

    • Lmao. Probably for the best! I know I’ll totally have a headdesk moment when I read the book and compare but I must admit i do enjoy Twilight with a glass (bottle) of wine when I feel like a pick me up

Leave a Reply

